Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Candy Sugar_Scrapbooking, Montessori, zero waste & expat family life in Belgium!
17 février 2016

{Travels} Planning my trip to Vancouver, Canada...

Hi all!

We'll be in Vancouver, Canada from March 6th to 12th.

So I'll be having 5 days on my own+1 day with my husband (+ a rental car! yay!)

I have made a selection of things and places I'd like to discover but don't know how much time I need to do all of these:

 

Stanley Park+aquarium+zoo+totems

Roedde House museum

Van Dusen Botanical Garden

Vancouver Urban adventures: Gastown(art galleries, cobbled streets) +Steam clock(water street)/Chinatown(night market, garden 10a.m-4.30p.m)

Vancouver downtown (Robston street)

Dunbar theatre(see programme there)

Memorial garden

Vancouver Police museum

 

UBC(university)/Simon Frayser university

 

Bridge

Maritime museum (Vanier Park, near planetarium & Burrard Street)

Vancouver Art Gallery

English bay

Granville island public market (++ stop for lunch)

Queen Elisabeth Park (++ for luncheon; flowers, tropical plants)

 

 

 

Now, this is what I'd like to visit, but with a small group of tourists but I don't realize if it's far away from Vancouver harbour and I still haven't found a reasonably-priced tour agency...if you have any clue, please share!

I have found two websites (http://www.azurever.com/vancouver/visiter and https://www.viatorcom.fr/fr/7379/Vancouver-tours/Excursions-a-la-journee/d616-g5 but all the suggested excursions are not available in March...)

Any idea on the ones which are the ones not to miss on these 2 websites? (I'll have to make a choice, can't do it all financially+ in just a few days there!)

 

 

_Vancouver Island : Victoria 

Victoria(Butchard Gardens+Fairmont Empress hotel with a, real English afternoon tea; sea life: Minke whales, orques; ferry ride)

Spinnaker brew pub(regional beers, local food) 308 Catherine st.

_Vancouver Island: Tofino (Vancouver island’s west coast)

Road Victoria-Tofino (west coast)=great

See Pacific Rim beach(with forest and many animals, tall trees…)

Whales (Long Beach)

_Capilano Suspension bridge

 

EDIT: I haven't found, after a lot of research, a tour to explore Vancouver island in March. So maybe I won't be able to visit Vanc. island this time... I saw this really nice 8 days camping trip that must really be fun in the summer!!

_Whistler (but then, what to do there except window shopping/shopping(are the shops opened on Mondays or when are they closed?) if I am on my own? Won't be walking in the snow on my own! °-°)

_Mount Seymour and Grouse Mountain (don't know if they are nearby and if they can be both done in one day. Maybe the last day, when we have the car)

 

Also I found these names but don't know anything about them yet...do you know any of them?

 

Royal Hudson train: where to? Possible in 1 day (return)? Where does it go? (sea bus in Vancouver/bus to the Royal Hudson Station. Very nice view when returning on the city center’s skyscrapers)

Suspended bridge in Lynn Cnayon Park (North Vancouver)--> is this one better than the Capilano suspension bridge??! (I'm afraid of heights so any info would be great!)

 

 

 

BC Grand Tours ( Lil’ wat cultural centre: VICTORIA TOUR
                              Harrisson Hot Springs tour(far??): Bridal falls, Harrisson village beach, mountain, lake; mineral rich hot springs; Victoria shore; Seattle)

 

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 I also found these references:

 

General tours:

Coastal Peak tours

 

More specific tours:

Sky helicopters

Vancouver brewery tours

Vancouver mysteries

Fun City Sightseeing

Vancouver Foodie tour

For a boat cruise around Vancouver: http://www.boatcruises.com/

 

Sporty activities:

West Trek Tours

Guided kayaking tour of Vancouver

Yoga retreats/days/special events addresses?

 

 

Concerning vegetarian/vegan/healthy  restaurants/snacks I've found a lot of information that I'll gladly share if some of you are interested (just leave me a comment below). I found various resources including: Vegans of Vancouver & VEGAN Vancouver on Facebook. on Happycow or on the excellent https://canadianveggie.wordpress.com/.

I have a few addresses for scrapbooking, thrift/vintage stores but not sure the stores will still be in business (it happened to a scrapbooking store last year in Beaumont).

I am still looking for a mall (possibly with a scrapbooking and book store too!) to bring a few groceries and stuff back home! Also a bulk shop (for food; for other things  I have already seen that there is  a great place called The Soap Dispensary that I will visit! Can't wait!!and thrift/vintage store would be really nice!!

If you happen to know a lifestyle photographer, that may also interest me! :-)

Have a nice day and please share with anyone who could help!

Thanks!

C.

 

P.S: Weather forecast up to 14 days :always good to know what the weather will be like when planning one's programme, especially in winter !! ;-)

And click here to know what to wear according to the season you're going to Vancouver B.C! 

 

Here a video to see what  the way to Whistler is about! (the Sea-to-Sky highway) :-)

 

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Candy Sugar_Scrapbooking, Montessori, zero waste & expat family life in Belgium!
Publicité
Archives
Newsletter
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 1 433
Publicité